cultural and historic value of Potosí has been recognized for the UNESCO through the statement of “Patrimonio Cultural of the Humanity”. The colonial city conserves still monumental
temples built in times of prosperity, when immense wealth were extracted of the Rich Hill. Those times remained behind, although
Potosí still keeps in its bowels tin, zinc, antimonio and wólfram. In Potosí they dazzle the magnificent civil and religious
constructions as the mint. It is also recommendable, to understand the life of Potosí, to visit the mine. In any case, everything
that can be appreciated in Potosí constitutes a testimony during the day of great wealth for some and exploitation for other.
They form part of the attractions of this city, the next towns in which the settlers dress beautiful weavings carried out
by them same. Near Potosí, the highest city of the world, the visitor can enjoy thermal water and other fascinating natural
spots as the to Salt of Uyuni and the Lagoons of colors.
of the main tourist attractions of the city of Potosí is the "Sumaj Orko", call also Rich Hill. Since the year 1545 functioned
functioned in this place Pailaviri, the most important mining center , of whose bowels they were extracted immense silver
quantities. The access to the mine is carried out by means of an elevator that descends to the visitors to the 240 meters
of depth, where the galleries of extraction of all the can be observed minerals: leads-silver, zinc-silver and tin.
The cathedral is the first
greater church of Potosí. Is a matter of a neoclassical architectural work, according to the master one Veramenti. The temple
is comprised of a ship of cruiser that subsisted to principles of the 19th century (1807). The subsequent collapse obliged
the reconstruction of the Church. At present the Cathedral shows the stone and the brick with which originally was built.
In its interior three ships they are notified and a cruiser with dome on drum octogonal, cover with barrel vault run , where
a great central dome shows off itself and two twin towers. The work undertaken by Fray Manuel of Sanahuja demanded 28 years
(1808-1836). In 1924 he obtained the rank of Cathedral and at present he is respected like one of the most beautiful of Latin
Convent of San Francisco
church dates from 1547 and was founded by the Fray Gaspar of Velarde. Is the oldest cloister of Bolivia. Its beautiful front
worked in stone is admired for the visitor that arrives at this imperial land. The interior of the Church is decorated with
cloths of the famous painter Melchor Pérez of Olguín and with neoclassical altars. In one of these altars the image of the
Mister of Edge Cross rests , found one morning in a drawer of cedar in the door of the church. The beard and the hair of the
Christ are natural. The Mister of Edge Cross, declared Owner of Potosí, is venerated in a local holiday that is carried out
September 14. The temple is of type basilical and has three ships. The head office is cover by a barrel vault run and the
lateral with domes. The cruiser shows three semiesferas, the walls are of lime and song, the domes of brick and the pillars
of ashlar. The towers present a pyramidal square plant, with four sides covered with ceramics.
of Holy Sunday
was the second Church built in the city and dates from the year 1620. It was remodeled the year 1870, date in which the neoclassical
style was introduced. Then the dome premiered itself, a replica of the Cathedral. The front of Holy Sunday is Renaissance.
The temple maintains the stuccoed of the ship and the chapels of cruiser, a high chorus and the covered with the entrance.
One of the most important hereditary elements is the sillería of the high chorus and of the room to surrender. The cloister
was become a jail public.
of The Mercy
is the first convent mercedario based on Potosí, the year 1555. Its church was concluded the year 1687. The front of the nave
is Renaissance and was worked in stone with two bodies. The lower one presents an arch of half a point and exhibits the shield
of the Mercy. Its espresso decoration a certain abandonment al classical style and the introduction of the racially mixed
style. Its main plant is of a single ship with a triumphant arch, has two lateral chapels: the Solitude and the Holy one Christ
of the Column. Among the most important elements is the stuccoed of Mudejar character and the samples of mural painting ,
located along the chorus and the main ship. To the left of the facade a double bulrush of large proportions raises itself,
with relation al remainder of the construction, with a beautiful open bell tower al public.
Convent of Holy Teresa
front of the Convent of Holy Teresa is worked in pink stone of two bodies; preserve the cornice of three shields, one of them
corresponds to the Carmelite order and the lateral to the cofounders. The construction has a single ship covered with roofs
water with armor of wood; the space is divided by an arch of triumph that demarcates the chancel and an altarpiece bathed
with bread of gold, of baroque style. The convent, adequate for museum of sacred art, possesses beautiful paintings with old-fashioned,
golden frameworks and own objects of the life of the convent.
of San Bernardo
was built in times of the Virrey Toledo and totally was reconstructed by the architect Bernardo Red the year 1731. The temple
is built with stone without working, is of a single ship and counts on a cruiser, sacristies, baptistries and an angelorio.
They covered with vaults of half a tube and a great central dome, all the work of lime and song, has a front carved in stone
and bulrush. After the foundation of the Republic of Bolivia the creation of cemeteries being chosen was arranged the church
of San Bernardo for the construction of a cemetery that was utilized until 1909.
of San Lorenzo
built the year 1548, was known like the Temple of the Assumption and destined the dwelling of the Spaniards. The restructuring
was carried out in the 18th century, when the dome was built and a beautiful racially mixed baroque front carved in stone
with numerous symbols. The church, of a single ship, preserve a polychrome high chorus and carved in wood, besides baroque
altarpieces. The Christ tied to the column and the Christ crucified, works of Gaspar of the Cave, they complete the religious
environment of the temple, whose structure is of adobe. The chorus, in the shape of OR, is maintained by canes long and simple.
Compañia of Jesus
al public the year 1590, the Church of the Company of Jesus was reconstructed in 1599. In the work of restructuring the predominant,
racially mixed style in the 18th Century was imposed. The church was worked in stone. The construction surprises al visiting
by the beauty of its architecture and grandeur of the tower in which is recorded the following legend : “Alabado be
the very saint sacramento”. Its front is flanked by three peers of columns salomónicas well decorated and 36 small columns
salomónicas. The tower, to Roman triumph arch way, is cover with three domes of orange average, concluded this work was carried
out by the native one Sebastián of the Cross.
Church of San Benito
Known as the first church
of Indians, San Benito was built by Bernardo of Red, between the years 1711 and 1727. The Church conserves in its interior
an important collection of paintings. The precinct has a private form, sample in its structure a latin american cross covered
with 9 domes of orange average. In the interior an altarpiece of the 18th century is notified and a pulpit with average corresponding
sizes al 17th century. Of the walls they take down pictures with scenes of the life of San Benito.
Church of San Martin
The structure of the Church
of San Martin is of adobe. The temple was dedicated to the natives of the lake Titikaka that came to this place to comply
with the obligatory service (put it) in the mines of the Rich Hill. This church depended on the order of the Mercedarios.
Of a single ship and a semidetached tower, the temple suffered several modifications although conserves its interior beauty.
The lateral cloths are covers with a series of oils relating to the life of the Virgin, all they conserve the marquería original.
The temple exhibits valuable images of the Christ Yacente, The Painful one and San Juan, images that each year are walked
through the streets in the procession of the Holy Grave, carried out the Good Friday.
Fence al old cemetery, emerges
the Church Jesuralém, this is a sanctuary dedicated to the Virgin of the Candelaria (appeared the year 1623). According to
chronicles of the epoch, the Virgin had a hermitage where there was itself refugee the vascongado in its fight with the edict
vicuña. The final construction dates from the year 1702 and was in charge of the master Mr. Lazarus of Moon and Francisco
Ortega. The church was enriched in 1769 by initiative of the priest José of Serum Gonzáles and Andrade, who sent to build
the altarpiece of the high altar, conserved to date. It conformed by a single ship and a semidetached tower, the interior
shows al high chorus, an arch that divides the space destined to the faithful and al cultured. In the side of the gospel is
the pulpit where paintings are found of Melchor Pérez of Holguín, and al fund a baroque altarpiece of 1765.
of the Currency
The Virrey Toledo carries
ahead the construction of the first mint. In 1572 they raised themselves the foundation in the surrounding area of the Plaza
of the Elation (today Plaza 10 of November) under the responsibility of the builder potosino Jerónimo of Leto. The work was
concluded three years later. Its cost elevated to 8.321 pesos , a tomín and 13 silver grains.
They elapsed near 150 years
of operation of the first mint and despite that the silver production of the Rich Hill crossed a critical period, the real
authorities of Spain decided to set in motion that of relaunching" of the prized metal, building the second mint, inaugurated
July 31, 1773.
It created the Republic
of Bolivia in 1825, was definite the monetary and administrative organization. Two years had to spend -while continued circulating
the Spanish currencies -to manufacture those of republican stamp.
It located 22 kilometers of Uyuni,
to ends of the 19th century, Pulacayo was in one of the most important mining centers the country, where the internationally
known one was promulgated “Tesis of Pulacayo” that claimed the interests of the working class. In this place the
remainders of the first train are exhibited that operated in Bolivia.
The population of Colchani, acquaintance
also as “Puerto Dry”, is the main entrance to the region. It is located 22 kilometers of the town of Uyuni, on
the banks of the great to Salt. Is the center of the extraction of salt. The visitor can appreciate rustic dwellings built
with adobe, blocks of salt and techadas with tall grass, material they permit to conserve the heat and to face the low temperatures
that are registered in the region. The existing tall grass in the zone, does that the grazing of flames, vicuñas and other
species of mammals, be frequent.
Salting of Uyuni
The to salt of Uyuni constitutes an impressive natural attraction
by its white crust of salt that resembles a static sea. Its extension of 10.582 km2, The largest one of the world
becomes it, with a reserve of nine million tons of lithium and other mineral evaporíticos. The landscape is spectacular, the
traveled through by its platform permits to observe you figure polyhedral formed by the Aeolian force of the wind. It is fascinating
the contrast that is given among the blue one of the sky, the white shining one and the rustic lilac coffee of the mountains
that encircle it, besides two existing islands in the middle. The to Salt is located among the parallels 20º and 21º of south
latitude and 68º of western length. It contains a reserve of 9 million tons of lithium and other mineral evaporíticos. The
to Salt is formed by a stratum salino of high levels of purity that has 6 meters of depth. Is the result of the disappearance
of a sea that extended for all the altiplano and that arrived to the lake Titicaca. The drying occurred 13.000 years ago.
In the extension of salt some appear “ojos”, is a matter of some orifices from 10 to 15 cm of diameter and of
120 meters of depth. A strong presence of grasses (tall grass) is appreciated in the place. In places of greater humidity
they sprout the tholares and the keñuas , typical flora of the region. Be displaced in a vehicle by this lake of salt is an
extraordinary experience, above all during the winter when the blue intense one of the sky contrasts with the brilliant crust
of salt. In cloudy days the effect is produced “white - out”, the horizon is blurred and is almost impossible
to differentiate the land of the sky. In the middle of this shining white desert they emerge you figure polyhedral formed
by the Aeolian force of the wind. The islands that are in the middle of all this panorama are also an attraction for the visitor:
The Island Cujiri, more known as Island Fish, is located 74
kilometers of Colchani , in the same center of the to salt. It has an extension of 100 hectares and reveals a picturesque
landscape. The surface of granite and organic land permitted that a species of gigantic cactus (6 meters of height) have developed
an interesting ecosystem. In the top of the Island is a cave, in which the different geological layers of its floor can be
appreciated. This it is one of the better places to take photographs of the island and of the to Salt.
The Island Incahuasi, known like Island Fishermen, is formed
on the remainders of a volcano , to a height of 102 m on the surface of the to salt. In the island identifying 7 archaeological
places of the culture they have themselves Tiwanakota , 2 Inca ruins, 30 caverns, 12 natural tunnels and 1 forest of cactus
(quirucolumbar, pillaya, piscallu, thulo, huajraguaya , añaguaya, etc.) Alfredo Lazarus (comunario of Llica) lives protecting
the Island since 1987. He has counted 4.030 adult cactus, 5.000 units of cactus in development and 16 cactus burned or resecados.
The Island is nest of birds, vizcachas, etc. This it is an extraordinary place to contemplate this extraordinary landscape
and to take photographs.
It reserves National of Andean Fauna “Eduardo Miserly”
The National Reserve of Andean Fauna Eduardo Miserly (DEFENDANT) is located al south of the Department
of Potosí. In a surface of 7.147 km2, he harbors extraordinary Lagoons, an enormous diversity of flora, géisers and geothermal
wells of surprising beauty. The Reserve was created the year 1973, has a surface of 714.745 hectares (7.147 km2). The Area
limits toward the South with the Republic Argentina and al Western with the Republic of Chile. The climate is cold and dry
and is to a height that oscillates between the 4.200 and the 6.000 meters above sea level. The Reserve Eduardo Miserly (DEFENDANT)
is situated in the Western mountain Range, characterized in detail plateaus and volcanic cones. The Reserve has registered
102 species of flora and the existence is estimateed of approximately 200 species of upper plants. The zone is characterized
for the extensive deserts ice creams and the meadow altoandina semidesértica. In the place is possible to appreciate salty
Lagoons of glacial origin, bofedales and turberas. Among the 96 species of fauna registered they emphasize the vicuña (Vicugna
vicugna), the Andean cat or titi (Felis Jacobite), the suri (Pterocnemia pennata), the soca (Fulica cornuta), the chocka (Fulica
gigantic) and the three species of flamencos (Phoenicoparrus andinus, Phoenicoparrus jamesi and Phoenicopterus chilensis)
that nest in enormous colonies. Likewise some species of small birds are observed like Upucerthia validirostris , Phegornis
mitchelli and other migratory species originating from the North hemisphere. The Reserve possesses the following attractions:
Is an assembly of rocky formations, whose evolution and form itself
due to the Aeolian erosion. This landscape natural surrealist this surrounded by a desert of sand , the panorama dazzles al
The Red Lagoon, located to 4.278 meters above sea level, extends
on a surface of 60 km2. It is a multicolored Lagoon where they dominate the reddish tones, product of the sediments of zooplacton,
fitoplacton and other. The color contrast that is produced among the environment, the flamencos and the red one of the Lagoon
dazzles al visiting. This place also known as the “Nido of the Andes”, shelters at more than 30.000 flamencos
of three different species that nest in it. Is also the shelter of the Parihuana Small, the largest one of South America.
The landscape is done still more spectacular by the bird life that writes down in the red water. Three varieties of birds
are observed: the parina small or chururu, the totoko and the parina large, that do a high one before continuing the trip
al north. On the road to the Red Lagoon the active volcano is seen Ollagüe, the chain of Lagoons inhabited by flamencos and
the thermal water of the Chalviri that contain salt water (30º C of temperature). Among the natural attractions of the place
they are the Lagoons Chiar Ckota, Stinking, Ramaditas and Salted, the hills Ollagüe and Licancabur, the stone formations of
Rockrose Prairie and the thermal force of the Sun of Tomorrow.
“Sun of Tomorrow”
To an hour of trip of the Red Lagoon they are the géisers,
intermittent sources of water that sprouts to a temperature of 90º C, fumarolas and cracks by where leaves washes volcanic.
It is recommended to observe the place since a considerable distance by the sensibility of the land.
It is found in the southwestern extreme of Potosí , to the
feet of the volcano Licancabur, to a height of 4.350 meters above sea level. It occupies a surface of 17 km2 and its vision
evokes the landscape of end of the world. This it divided into 2 bodies of water. Its extraordinary color is owed al high
content of magnesium that possess the geological formations of the area. The landscape is done truly fascinating when the
sun enters al zenit. In the edges of the Lagoon black volcanic stones of enormous dimensions they are found and saline rocks
that emerge of the interior of the land. Not yet the depth of this Lagoon has been able to be determined. The tall grass grows
in the zone, adopting the specific forms by the course of the wind. Traveling through for the edges permits to have spectacular
views pans of the Lagoon and of the surrounding hills, creating beautiful contrasts of colors that are reflected in the water.
Is an apt setting for the walks, the tourism of adventure and the ecoturismo. The ideal dates for this traveled through are
the months of June , July and August, season in which the land is dry, therefore the ascent is facilitated and the displacement.
The volcano Licancabur (5.868 m.s.n.m.) has an almost perfect conical form. Is inactive and counts on very little vegetation
(tall grass and grass). It is located in the western sector of the Green Lagoon and is the frontier limit between of Chile
and Bolivia. The ascent al volcano takes some 5 hours, the slope is pronounced and rocky and the climber should face strong
winds originated in La Pazful Ocean. Since the top the deep valleys can be appreciated and the numerous existing Lagoons inside
and out of the park.
Front of the Lions
Its construction dates from
end of the 18th century. By the typology of the front is supposed that belonged some Overlord captain to put. The building
totally was remodeled the year 1970 , was added a second body. In the interior they were done a series of new constructions
that do difficult to recognize the original structure.
Marries of the Three
Called also of the “Recogidas”
by being the beaterio of Indies, belonging to the Franciscan order. It is a matter of three fronts with a totally original
design, that does not reproduce the religious architecture but presents a strange and abundant ornamentation. The fronts are
of brick covered by lime, evidence that espresso the economic slope by the one that passed it known “Villa Imperial”
in the 18th century. Two of the fronts cover plants with a door and window, the third one lacks window and has a cloth very
decorated that covers the flat.
Marries of Francisco
of the Rocha
Has a beautiful unit of
layout in its main facade of symmetrical design. The front is it more interesting of the composition. The real estate conserves
the racially mixed ornamentation.
Plaza 10 of November
It called also "Plaza of
Elation” due to that since 1890, two times al year, in their immediacies the carnival, the independence days and the
bullfights were celebrated. In the days was already custom to listen al Prefect announcing the quantity of bulls that would
give al town. The buildings that surrounded the Plaza corresponded to the royal households, the first mint, the greater Church,
the city Hall and the Empedradillo.
To some 250 meters on the same wall of the sector of Lajasmayu,
in this place the pictográficas are found disseminated along the wall. In the outskirts there are representations of camélidos
they aligned and anthropomorphic representations that have been recover with crossings as sample of the control of the evangelización
in America. The colors utilized are the red purple, the white one and the black one.
Mill Qaqa ( mill
of the devil)
In this place the cave paintings are exhibited on a ferrous sandy
oblique wall. They can be seen you figure geometric (lines, undulating, spiral, circles, multiform figures , fitomorfas, etc.),
representations zoomorfas (ruminant and camélidos) and antropomorfas. Through the paintings the different periods can be appreciated
(remote from times to the colonial epoch, between the 400 and 6000 years). The paintings have colors as the red purple, the
white one, the black one and the yellow one.
The paintings are found
in the north extreme of the mountainous wall. To agree al place one must pass for the community of Supay Mill, where some
twenty motives carried out in red purple can be appreciated, geometric forms, representations of weavings, etc.
Lajasmayu I and II
They conceived as the places of most important rock art of
the zone, they exhibit a variety of samples.
This place presents petroglifos and pictographs disseminated
on the walls of the place, some of them presents in a formation basáltica. Fence to 40 motives painted and a hundred engravings
give forms al picture. The paintings in red present motives zoomorfos and antropomorfos, while the engravings express themes
referred to the hunt.
Road of Betanzos
This it was an old Inca road, presents a diversity of landscapes.
In Pignasi we find us with remainders of cave painting, above all in the place called Corner.
14 kilometers Potosí, the Sanctuary
of Manquiri transports al visiting to the architecture of the 18th century. In passed times the place was venerated by the
emanations of vapor of the thermal water that run subterranean. The front of the church is of the purest racially mixed style
and all the structure shines with its immaculate whiteness, emphasizing its strange figure on the reddish hills.
The Door of the Devil
The door is located six kilometers of the city and sample an interesting
geological structure in red sandstone of a lot of color that finish in the cave. Next to her the famous cave is found, difficult
to visit it internally but attraction to contemplate the geological formation in which is found.
Lagoon of Tarapaya
Known also as the “Baño of the Inca”, is a matter
of a place of thermal water that leads to other springs. Is a natural attraction very concurred. It possesses the form of
a perfect circle. To the Lagoon they are attributed him curative qualities and has a singular surrounding landscape by the
natural coloring of its hills.
It is a matter of a spa of ideal, thermal water to pass the
day enjoying the hot and healthy sulphurous water of its natural Lagoon. Tarapaya is found on the road toward the city of
Arriving at Tecoya (3.300 m.s.n.m.), a stone figure rests of
approximately 40 meters of height. It is a matter of The Christ of Tecota, whose face can be appreciated, as well as the scalp
and the cloak in position of meditation. In the lower part a beautiful fall of water is observed known like Pajcha of Tecoya.
National park - "Reserve Eduardo Miserly"
Identifying also as National Reserve of Andean Fauna, this
park has a surface of 714.745 hectares toward the southwest of the Department of Potosí. Its altitude average is of 4.000
m. s. n. m. It is a region of extensive plains and plateaus cleared in the west by mountain ranges hardly fold. A series of
Lagoons exists or mirrors of water that have its origin in the drying of the old lakes. The vegetation is abundant in pasturelands
, tall grass, thola, keñua and yareta. The fauna counts on three species of flamencos: the tokotoko, the chururu and the jututu.
It located in the south extreme of the reserve, this Lagoon
has a surface of 17 Km2, It divided into two bodies of water. The coloring is green emerald caused by the high
content of magnesium. Very close the dull Volcano is found of Licancabur, that has a height of 5.868 meters above sea level
, marking the border with Chile. To an hour of trip toward the south of the Green Lagoon, the geysers are found and fumarolas
that stem from the interior of the land, since the sector is clearly volcanic.
This Lagoon is found 327 kilometers of the city of Uyuni (South
province Lípez, to 2.278 m.s.n.m.) and possesses a surface of 60 square meters. The place is characterized for the reddish
one of its water.
Town of Uyuni
Locality in which “el is found cemetery of trains”
that exhibits the most important remainders of machinery of railroad of the year 1890.